Most Recent News

Steering Committee for the Establishment of Faculty of Engineering in FUL Inaugurated, Inspects Laboratories at Felele Campus


The Vice-Chancellor, Federal University Lokoja (FUL), Professor Olayemi Akinwumi has inaugurated a 13-Man Steering Committee that would help to actualize the establishment of Faculty of Engineering in the University.

The inauguration ceremony took place on Monday, August 2, 2021 at the Council Chambers, Felele Campus was attended by Principal Officers and other relevant stakeholders.

Recall that the Senate of the University during its 61st Special Meeting held on Thursday, May 27, 2021 at the Senate Chambers, Adankolo Campus, gave approval for the establishment of both Medicine and Engineering Programmes in Federal University Lokoja.

However, following the Senate approval for the establishment of the two important programmes in the University, a Steering Committee for the actualization of only Medical Sciences was earlier constituted and inaugurated by the Vice-Chancellor on Friday, May 28, 2021 at the Council Chambers, Adankolo Campus, promising that the Committee on the establishment of the Faculty of Engineering would equally be constituted at a later date.

In his remarks during the inauguration, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Olayemi Akinwumi charged members of the Committee to work hard and take advantage of the Ajaokuta Steel Company Limited, National Iron Ore Mining Company, Itakpe, Dangote Cement Plc, Obajana, Innoson Vehicle Manufacturing Co. Ltd and other local industries within and outside the State with a view to establishing a world-class Faculty of Engineering that would stand tall amongst comity of Universities in producing quality and high-tech manpower needed for the rapid development of the nation.

The Co-ordinator/Chairman of the Committee, Engr. Professor Lateef O. Onundi (who is from the University of Maiduguri on Sabbatical) and other members of the Committee who spoke at the event, thanked the University Management for the confidence reposed in them. He promised to bring their wealth of experiences to bear on the onerous task and complete the assignment within the stipulated period.

Membership of the Steering Committee drawn from various Institutions is as follows:

Engr. Prof. Lateef O. Onundi - Coordinator/Chairman,

Engr. Prof. John Adesiji Olorunmaiye - University of Ilorin - Member

Engr. Prof. Olugbenga Abejide - ABU, Zaria - Member

Engr. Prof. Salawu AbduRahman Asipita - FUT, Minna - Member

Engr. Prof. Samuel Ndueso John - NDA, Kaduna - Member

Engr. Prof. Jimoh Boyi - ABU, Zaria - Member,

Engr. Prof. Abdulganiu Bakare - ATBU, Bauchi - Member

Engr. Prof. Stephen Malo - UNIJOS - Member

Engr. Dr. Eyitayo Afolabi Representing

Engr. Prof. Joseph O. Odigur -Rep. of COREN/FUT Minna - Member,

Engr. Dr. Shehu Shuaib AbdulAzeez - Kogi State Polytechnic, Lokoja - Member

Engr. Dr. Habeeb Bello Salau - ABU, Zaria – Member, and 

Mr. Muhammed Jamiu Osihana - Senior Assistant Registrar (SAR), FUL to serve as the Secretary.