Most Recent News

ICRPC: FUL VC, Prof. Akinwumi Receives 2023 Peace Ambassador Award


The Institute for Crisis Resolution, Peacebuilding and Conciliation (ICRPC) has conferred the "Peace Ambassador Award" on the Vice-Chancellor, Federal University Lokoja, Prof. Olayemi Akinwumi.

According to the Governing Council of the Institute, the award was bestowed on Prof. Akinwumi in special recognition of his outstanding performance and sterling qualities as a leader, his dedicated commitment, and immense contributions to sustainable peace and conflict resolution in Nigeria. 

The award, which was received on behalf of the VC by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Prof. M.S. Audu, was presented at the maiden edition of the National Peace-Building Conference organized by ICRPC in collaboration with the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN) with the theme "Electoral Process, Democracy, Security, Governance and Conflict Resolution in 2023 General Elections."

ICRPC is a professional body established in 2009 and authorized by the Federal Government of Nigeria with membership drawn from both public and private sectors whose mission is to build, strengthen and improve the crisis resolution and peace-building capacities of practitioners, scholars, stakeholders through professional development and certification in addition to promoting best practices to foster crisis management and peace-building in Africa and beyond.

Among other eminent personalities who were conferred with the 2023 Peace Ambassador Award included Dr. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, former Governor of Kano State - who was also the Special Guest of Honour; Maj. Gen. Lawrence Onoja (Rtd), former Military Governor, Plateau State; Prof. Andrew Zamani, DG, Institute of Governance and Development Studies, Nasarawa State University, Keffi and Chairman of the Conference; Prof. Nentawe Goshwe Yilwatda, former Resident Electoral Commissioner, Benue State; and Prof. Uduma Oji Uduma, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), NOUN.

Other awardees at the auspicious occasion were Prof. Olufemi Peters, Dr. Enock-Etimighan Pere-Ere, CP Interpol Stanley Ude, Rev. Fr. Steve Chukwudumebi Chukwu, and Mrs. Theresa Happiness Phillips.

Congratulations! See more pictures here